New Year…..So What?

CaptureHi Ahmad! Happy New Year”

“Happy New Year Bros”

“MorningHappy New Year…whats your new year resolution”

I have totally forgotten it was a new year until I walked into the office this morning.

I was just sad I had to come to work! At some point I had to ask my colleague Bukola “oh na new year we de?” 

Why do people celebrate New Year? 

For some people, a new year goes beyond just a change of date – it is a time to reflect on the previous year, set new goals and also celebrate with friends and family.

For many, it is a time to stop old habits and start new ones, cut off old relationships and venture into new ones, invest in new businesses, etc. 

For most, they only concentrate on having new year resolutions without any concrete plans of achieving them!

But the question is – why wait every 365 days to reflect, set new goals, make friends or become a better person? Why cant you do that daily, weekly, monthly or at least quarterly?

Last year I had 6 new year resolutions, come 31st December 2018, I had achieved JUST ONE! JUST ONE!! 

Why was that?

Firstly, my new year resolutions were concentrated around things I had little or no control over…So I have learnt the hard way.

Secondly, lets just say I set those resolutions because most people were talking about theirs… I guess!

So do I have new year resolutions for 2019? The answer is I don’t even know!

It is a new year…and so what? 

Published by ahmadbtgrw

some day i will have something to write about me. for now i have nothing!

Leave a comment